Quilt Retreat

2013 retreat 1

Last month, my local guild hosted a quilt retreat.  The weekend was absolutely incredible.  I’m already planning to be there again next year.  It was great fun spending the whole weekend quilting, and I learned so much from all of the more experienced people there.

I spent most of the weekend working on Ben’s St. Patrick’s Day quilt.  I did take some time out to work on my blocks for the guild’s charity quilt, though.  This year’s quilt is being donated to Heart of the Valley Animal Shelter for them to auction, so the committee decided that paper pieced hearts would be appropriate.

charity hearts

It was my first experience with foundation piecing, so it was really nice to have so many experienced people there to learn from.  I was given plenty of tips, and I got to borrow an Add-A-Quarter Ruler.  That ruler made foundation piecing so easy!  It has a quarter-inch lip to give a nice seam allowance.  You simply fold back the foundation along your next sewing line, slide the lip up to the fold, and cut your seam allowance.  This is really useful, because it gives you a nice edge to line up your next piece of fabric with.

All in all, it was a wonderful weekend with great food, amazing company, much sewing, and many laughs.  I can’t wait to go back again next year.

This entry was posted in quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your Comments Make My Day

