My First Quilt – Basted

first quilt 31

It feels like forever since I finished the top and backing of my first quilt.  I just looked back in my archives, and realized that it’s been about a month and a half!  That’s a long time to let a finished top languish without quilting it.  But my house is much too little to lay out this quilt, so I couldn’t baste it here.

My parents recently bought a house about 40 miles from here, so the plan was to baste it there.  But when my Mom was here, my job was crazy, and she was busy painting.  Between not having time, and not wanting to risk mixing paint and my quilt, it didn’t get done during her visit.  And once she went home, it just didn’t sound like very much fun to drive out there and spend a day in her house when I couldn’t be visiting with her.  But I finally got up the gumption to go today, and I got this bad boy basted.

first quilt 32

I’m really glad to have the basting finished.  I’m exited to start quilting.  The plan is to try to figure out how to do a feathery meander for the quilting.  Hopefully that will go well.  In the meantime, I’m planning to enjoy the rest of a wonderful day.  I got the quilt basted, I came home to find a beautiful arrangement of flowers on the table, we’re about to head out to see a play, and we’ll probably follow it up with a slice of pie from Perkins.  Definitely a good day.

103_3609

This entry was posted in bed quilts, life, my first quilt, quilting, scrap quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Quilt – Basted

  1. Amy says:

    Looks great! I’m working in on that same pattern but with red star points.

  2. Wonderful! You are doing really well. If meander doesn’t work for you, straight line quilting would be a good option on this quilt.

Your Comments Make My Day