My First Quilt – More Fussy Cutting

I got another 15 blocks done this week for my sister’s choice quilt.  It took quite a while to cut the fabrics for these blocks because I fussy cut all of the squares for the center nine patches.  It’s amazing how long fussy cutting takes.  I think it actually took longer to cut the fabrics than it did to sew these ones.  It’s definitely worth it, though.  I really like these blocks a lot.

first quilt 19

It’s really hard to chose my favorites when I like all of these blocks so much.  I managed to narrow it down to the six that I like the best.  These first two were made of the leftover fabric from the table runner that I finished last month.  the penguin block has all three of the fabrics that I used on the front of the table runner, while the snowman block has the fabric from the back and the binding.  The grey with the white dots is the only fabric that wasn’t in that project, but I think it fits perfectly with the snowmen.

first quilt 20

I also like these next two blocks.  The dragonfly fabric is one that I fell in love with the first time I saw it.  I didn’t buy it, but then I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  So, a few weeks later, I went back and picked up a bit.  The frog/turtle/lizard/grasshopper fabric was a scrap that I got from my neighbor.  She makes aprons and children’s children’s clothes, and she gives me her scraps to use in my quilts.  Her workmanship is really fantastic.  Check her out here.

first quilt 21

The last two that I will highlight are the rain boots and the dogs.  I bought a small bit of the rain boots fabric when I was working on Polaroid blocks for the Picture Perfect Polaroid Block Swap last summer.  The dogs are another treasure from my neighbor’s scrap bag.

first quilt 22

I’m now up to 54 completed sister’s choice blocks.  That means I only have 27 left to go.  I’m hoping that I can do nine blocks a week for the next three weeks and have all of the blocks I need finished.  I’m not sure if that’s a reasonable goal since I don’t have anything started for them yet, but it would be really nice if I could make it happen.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see how it goes.

This entry was posted in bed quilts, my first quilt, quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Quilt – More Fussy Cutting

  1. Astrid says:

    Love the blocks and I love how you have fussy cut the squares. Those snowmen are to die for! Very cute!

  2. Daddy says:

    This is going to be one fantastic quilt!

  3. Susan says:

    Adorable!

Your Comments Make My Day

