Quilting for a Cause: Ronald McDonald House Charities

I recently discovered the Quilting for a Cause Flickr group.  The basic premise is that people post the quilts they are working on for a particular charity, and other people send them quilt blocks.  Then the original poster assembles, quilts, and donates the quilt.  I really love the idea.

A couple months ago, TX Sarah posted the idea to make I Spy blocks for the Lubbock Ronald McDonald House.  She used various sized fussy cuts of novelty fabrics set off center in solid or nearly solid fabrics to make 6.5″ unfinished blocks.  She requested that all blocks be made in pairs so the quilt could be a matching game.  She posted the first finished quilt top a couple of weeks ago:

I Spy #1

used by permission

Isn’t it great?  I wouldn’t have thought to turn the blocks different directions, but it really adds another element of fun to the quilt.  I was thrilled to see that she’s planning to continue to make quilt tops as long as she’s still getting more blocks, so I wasn’t too late to join in on the fun!

While I had intended it to be a project that took me a few hours, I ended up spending all day yesterday making blocks.  I got carried away fussy cutting the novelty prints, and I didn’t realize how long it would take me to frame all of them.  I’m glad I talked myself out of cutting any more before I sewed them into blocks!  Here’s what I came up with.  I must say that I really like them, and it’s fun to work on something that will mean so much to someone else.

Ronald McDonald House blocks 1 Ronald McDonald House blocks 2Ronald McDonald House blocks 3

This entry was posted in charity quilts, quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quilting for a Cause: Ronald McDonald House Charities

  1. Those are great blocks – I love the different sizes of the centers!

  2. Lynne says:

    Great blocks for a great cause!

Your Comments Make My Day

