Easy Street Mystery: First Two Steps

I’m finding that keeping up with a mystery is incredibly challenging with a full time job.  I’m probably trying a bit too hard to keep up, and I’m not really succeeding, but I am having fun.  Blue, green, and purple are my favorite colors, and I love how bright the fabrics are that that I’m using.  I’m very excited to see how it all comes together.

For the first week, we were instructed to make 192 four patches with a constant grey, and with our various black on whites.  Since Bonnie said the finished quilt will be 84″ square without the optional border, and 96″ square with it, I’m making extras of each unit.  I’m not making too many extras since I don’t know how they will be used, but I do want my finished quilt to be bigger than that.  I’m sure I will need to make more of everything once I see the reveal, but I figure that making a few extras of each thing along the way will give me less to do at the end.  So, I made 248 four patches.

I was amazed by how long it takes to cut, sew, and press 248 four patches.  That clue was posted on November 23, and I finally finished pressing the last of them today.  I was very grateful for one person’s suggestion to nest pairs of strips together before cutting them into segments so that I did half as much cutting, and I didn’t have to nest the individual pieces before sewing.  I can’t imagine how much longer it would have taken if I hadn’t stumbled on that trick.

Since I have six different black on white prints, I was able to make 15 unique four patch blocks.  I chose not to make any blocks with the same print in both corners.  Here’s what I ended up with:

ES four patches

The next clue was to make 128 flying goose units with purple for the goose, and black on white for the sky.  I made 140, and I just finished the last of them today.  I am so glad that Bonnie suggested using the easy angle ruler and the companion angle ruler.  Using them allows for much less trimming, and significantly less wasted fabric.  I really like the method.  If you haven’t ever used these rulers, you can see her video on using them to make flying geese here.  She’s a great teacher, and her video instructions are very clear.

With five different purples, and six black on white prints, I was able to make it so that no two flying geese are the same.  I could actually make 10 more flying geese without having any duplicates and without using the same print for both sky pieces in a single unit.  Here is a small sample of my geese:

ES flying geese

Clue three was released on Friday morning, and so far I have managed to get all of the pieces cut for it.  I’m hoping to finish this step early in the week so I can start on step four as soon as it is released on Friday.  My parents are coming to stay with us for a couple of weeks starting next Monday, so I would like to finish step four before they arrive since I probably won’t be doing any sewing while they’re here.  Fingers crossed that I’ll be able to get it done.

Linking up with Bonnie.

This entry was posted in bed quilts, mystery quilts, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easy Street Mystery: First Two Steps

  1. Anna G says:

    That’s looking really good. I have a feeling that if I were to actually make the Easy Street quilt, my OCD tendecies wouldn’t allow me to use different fabric for the “sky” pieces of the geese blocks. I really like what you have thus far and can’t wait to see your Part 3 pieced together. Good luck getting it done before your parents arrive.

    • Bobbi says:

      Thanks, Anna! I’m hoping that the finished quilt will look fairly scrappy even though I wasn’t able to find very many different fabrics to use. I’ll have to wait and see if it works out that way or not.

  2. Sharyn says:

    those flying geese are gorgeous
    Nice job, getting closer now!
    On the other hand I hate to see the mystery end.
    Sharyn in Kalama

    • Bobbi says:

      This is my first mystery, so at this point I’m just excited by each part of it. I suspect the end will be bitter sweet for me, too, though. We shall see!

  3. Sandra B says:

    Your patches look fantastic. Clue 4 is nearly here – woo hoo!

Your Comments Make My Day

