Night Out at the County Fair

Last weekend, Ben and I went to the county fair.  I haven’t been to a fair since I was a kid, and I had a blast.  I think he was amused at just how much I loved it.  We waited until evening so we could avoid the worst of the heat, which ended up being a great choice.  I absolutely love the way everything lights up at night, and it was nice to be able to walk around without feeling like we were baking under the sun.

We had a surprisingly good dinner while we were there.  A local farmer set up a stand selling pulled pork and ribs.  We had the baked potato loaded with butter, pulled pork, cheese, sour cream, green onions, paprika, and barbeque sauce.  It’s a combination I never would have thought of, but it was truly excellent.  It was great to have something healthy and delicious at the fair, and to be able to support someone local at the same time.

Since everything at the fair is expensive, we mostly just walked around and enjoyed hanging out.  It was really fun going to the different exhibits.  I always hated it when my mom and grandma would drag me through the exhibits as a kid, but I love them now.  Of course, my favorite was the quilt exhibit.  There were so many beautiful quilts, and I learned about Quilts of Valor, a charity that sends quilts to wounded soldiers that are recovering in the hospital.  The lighting wasn’t great for photography, but below are few of my favorite quilts from the exhibit.  You can click on any of the images to view a larger picture.

  
  
  

This entry was posted in exhibits, family, life, quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Night Out at the County Fair

  1. Pingback: The County Fair | Gallery32 Photography

Your Comments Make My Day

