Peanut Butter Pie

When I was attending a small Bible school, I got to know the cooks pretty well.  One day when we were hanging out, I asked if I could look through their cookbooks.  They gladly pulled them out for me, and I found this gem.  I reduced the amounts of the ingredients to be more reasonable for serving a family, and after making it according to the recipe the first time, I have since modified the crust.  The crust went through several versions before I finally settled on the one I give here.  This crust is more work than the one that came with the original recipe, but it is well worth the extra time and effort.

Ingredients:
Crust:
3 cups graham cracker crumbs
2/3 cup sugar
3/4 cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Filling:
4 ounces cream cheese
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter
8 ounces cool whip
Top:
1/2 gallon ice cream

1. Use a blender or a Ziploc bag and rolling pin to crush the graham crackers into fine crumbs.  I use honey flavored graham crackers.

2. Mix the graham cracker crumbs, sugar, melted butter, and cinnamon, then press into the bottom of a 9X13 baking dish.  Bake at 375° F for 8 minutes, then allow to cool completely before adding the filling.

3. Whip cream cheese until fluffy.  This is easier if you allow it to soften first.  I recommend using an electric mixer for this step and the next.

4. Beat in powdered sugar and peanut butter.

5. Gently fold in cool whip.

6.  Smooth over crust and freeze for a couple of hours.

7. When the filling is nearly frozen, set the ice cream on the counter to soften.  Once it is soft and the filling is frozen, smooth the ice cream on top and freeze for a few more hours.

8. Serve and enjoy.

This entry was posted in dessert, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your Comments Make My Day

