Polaroid Block Swap

I am getting ready to try my first ever quilt block swap.  I’m doing the Polaroid Block Swap since I really like the block, and since the swap is beginner friendly and doesn’t require a huge commitment.  The idea is to follow the tutorial by capitolaQuilter to make a bunch of blocks that look like Polaroid pictures.  Then you send them in and get different ones back.  It’s really neat since you can make a bunch with the same fabric, but when they come back, they will all be unique.

I haven’t decided exactly what I’m going to do with the blocks yet.  I have a few ideas.  I was thinking about making a twin size quilt where they look like they are randomly scattered.  I’ve also thought about making a small wall hanging for the room that is to become my quilting room.  Maybe I’ll make a table runner?  They could also be cute on pillows.  I have so many ideas for them, and I can’t decide which would be the best.

I didn’t have any KONA white, and it’s important for everyone to use the same brand in a swap so that the whites all look the same.  Since I couldn’t start sewing, I got a head start on fussy cutting the 2 1/2″ squares for the centers of the blocks.  I had the idea to cut “windows” out of a granola bar box to help me with the fussy cutting.  I cut 2 1/2″ squares out of the box, and then I cut 2″ squares out of the centers of the larger squares.  That lets me visually figure out the best way to cut the pieces.  It shows me what I will see in the finished square, and it shows me the space required for the seam allowances so I don’t get them too close together.  I’m sure I’m not the first person to have thought of the idea, but I was really happy to come up with it since it’s been so helpful.

   

(click on the pictures to see larger images)

My white fabric came today, and I am thrilled to get started with sewing the blocks.  I can’t wait to have a few of them done.  I’m especially excited since I didn’t expect to get the fabric until at least the middle of next week.  I ordered it from the Fat Quarter Shop, and I am pleasantly surprised at how great their processing time is.  I will definitely be visiting them again.

This entry was posted in quilting, swaps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Polaroid Block Swap

  1. Debbie says:

    Your ‘windows’ are a great tool – good for you! Your fabrics are looking terrific so far! Congrats on your first swap!

  2. Karen F says:

    Those tea cups are super cute and will cut up nicely. FQshop always comes through for me with prompt service – glad you can go to the next stage, have fun.

    • Bobbi says:

      I really like them, too. I’ve been busily sewing away since I got the white fabric. It’s fun to see the blocks coming together.

  3. Daddy says:

    You are amazing! Whoever came up with a quilt block swap idea is a genius. Hope to see lot’s of progress when we come to visit.
    Love you,
    Daddy

    • Bobbi says:

      I agree – it is genius! It’s a lot of fun, too. When you come visit, I will at least have all of the blocks done, but they may or may not be sewn into something at that point. I’m not sure how much sewing time there will be when working full time and doing school. I love you, too! Can’t wait to see you.

  4. Mom says:

    These are really cool, I think it is a great idea for a swap. Can’t wait to see you!

Your Comments Make My Day

