New Fabric

I mentioned on Monday that one of the things we did for our anniversary was go to Quilting in the Country.  Since I have never been to a quilting store, I was pleasantly surprised to see how good some of their sales were.  My anniversary present was getting to pick out a bit of fabric.

In the old bunkhouse, they have a basket of fat quarters that are one dollar each.  I dug through that basket and came out with a few gems.  My favorite is the brown explorer one.  It has hard hats, journals, maps, butterfly nets, magnifying glasses, etc.  I’m thinking of ways I could use it in a project for a little boy.

In the main store, they had a big basket full of scraps and remnants.  That basket was great!  Everything in it was $8/lb.  A couple days later, I spread out everything I got from that basket and measured it.  I calculated how many yards of fabric I got, and it came out to about $2.56/yd.  Needless to say, I was thrilled to get good quality quilting fabric so cheaply.

The best thing I found in that basket was a short panel of Christmas fabric with little animals doing wintery things:

Since it’s a bit hard to see what’s going on in the boxes, here’s a close up of each one:

    

 

I did end up splurging a little bit and getting a couple things that weren’t on sale.  I fell in love with this leaf print, and just had to have it in these two colorways.  The blue leaves are a unique touch, and I really like them.  I just got a quarter yard of each, and I can’t wait to use them.  Perhaps they will end up in the quilt I’m making now.

This entry was posted in fabric, quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Fabric

  1. Found you from the Curious Quilter. Such a great fabric bargain! Welcome to the happy world of quilting.

    • Bobbi says:

      Thanks! I’m really enjoying it so far. I have a few more posts in my head that I need to get out. It’s been a while since I updated. I appreciate your welcome. 🙂

Your Comments Make My Day

