Our First Anniversary

Friday was our first anniversary.  It’s hard to believe that we have already been married for a year.  Since we were long distance for the four years that we were dating and engaged, being able to see each other nearly every day this year has been truly incredible.  I still don’t take his presence for granted, and I hope I never do.

We were fortunate to both have Friday off last week, so we were able to hang out all day.  And what a fun day it was!  We started the morning with cinnamon rolls and orange juice.  I considered making the cinnamon rolls from scratch, but that sounded like way too much work for breakfast.  I prefer to have my breakfast ready in less than three hours.  Making them from scratch is on my list of things I would like to try someday, but I’m not really holding my breath.  For now, we just eat the ones from a can.

After breakfast, I made chocolate covered strawberries.  I’ve been wanting them for a while, but after making a couple hundred of them last weekend and not getting to eat any, I just had to make them for our anniversary.  I need more practice with making the white chocolate pretty, but they turned out well.  I even made some chocolate covered banana slices with white chocolate smiley faces.

We had planned to spend the bulk of the day hiking, but it turned out to be snowy and windy.  Since we knew the mountains would be even less pleasant, we decided to spend the day in town instead.  We started by checking out Quilting in the Country.  It’s a small quilting store that is located in an old farmstead.  It was the neatest place.  I wish I had taken some pictures of it.  The first things you notice when you drive up are the sheep in the pen and the immaculate landscaping.  The owner lives in the old farmhouse on the property, and the shop is held in two of the smaller buildings.  The buildings still have the original wood floors.  I am such a sucker for old wood floors.  It was a unique experience, and I can’t wait to go back.

We also visited the Used Book Barn.  Since we are both avid readers, it’s one of our favorite places.  It’s huge, well organized, well maintained, and the guy that owns it is really nice.  They sell all of their books for 50% of the original retail price.  However, if you donate your used books, you get store credit that allows you to purchase books for 25% of the original price.  We’re down to $0.63 of credit now.  We’re thinking we might have to see if there are any good deals on books at yard sales this summer so we can get more credit since we like going there so much.

I’m torn about what part of the day was my favorite.  It was either enjoying a quiet dinner at Johnny Carinos, or going bowling.  The dinner was a nice treat, and I enjoyed the subdued atmosphere.  But I don’t think I’ve gone bowling in about eight years, and that was super fun.  I sucked, but I enjoyed every second of it.  I’m strongly considering getting my own bowling shoes since shoe rental is so expensive, and I kind of want this to be a new hobby.   If we even just went once a month, it would only take about six months for the savings on shoe rentals to pay for a cheap pair for each of us.  I think it’s time to start saving my pennies for bowling shoes.

All in all, it was a great day, though it hasn’t quite sunk in that we’ve now been married for more than a year.  I still feel like we’re newlyweds.  The music for our first dance was “Then” by Brad Paisely.  The verses don’t really apply, but the chorus is so very true.  I love him now more than ever.  This last year was amazing, and I am excited to see what the future brings.

This entry was posted in marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our First Anniversary

  1. Daddy says:

    Ben & Bobbi – Congratulations on your first anniversary. Sounds like you had a fun day. Snow? We were at 96 degrees yesterday! Love you both.
    Dad

    • Bobbi says:

      I’ll take the snow over 96 degrees any day. It reminded me of standing in front of the fire for our ceremony. Love you, too!

Your Comments Make My Day

