Spending Time with Grandparents

Today was a glorious day.  This summer I am working in the math tutoring center at my university.  It’s the first time I’ve ever had a job that I can leave at work, so I was able to enjoy my first day off in a unique way.  Since today was also rather special in that I got to spend it with Ben’s grandparents, I’m ending it feeling profoundly happy.

At the Reservoir

Ben’s grandparents are incredible.  When I first spent time with them, it bothered me how much they bickered with each other; but then it dawned on me that the way they teasingly bicker is how they say, “I love you.”  Now it makes me smile whenever they really get going since it’s so obvious that they thoroughly enjoy each other’s company.  It’s fun to spend a day with people that have been married for 54 years and still love each other so much.

I think the best part of the day was going to visit a nearby reservoir.  Ben and I often park there in order to go hiking, but today we went just to enjoy the drive.  I always appreciate the scenery when we head up there, but it was somehow different when the whole point of the trip was to experience the journey rather than to hurry up and get there so we could hike.  We slowly wound our way through the gorgeous canyon as we admired the river that runs alongside the road.  Hearing his grandparents’ expressions of wonder heightened my awareness of the beauty around me.  After having been cooped up in town all semester, the fresh mountain air and stunning views were refreshing.  I’m grateful to live near such grandeur.

Of course, that was not the only part of the day that brought a smile.  Since we had a rather large lunch, I suggested just getting frozen yogurt for dinner.  This was met with hearty agreement.  Apparently my addiction to ice cream means I’m officially one of the family.  It’s even enough to make up for the fact that I don’t like coffee, which, in this family, is really saying a lot.  Then, as we dropped his grandparents off at their hotel, I noticed that they had a place out front for washing bikes.  This struck me as very strange, and rather amusing.  Why would a hotel provide a place to wash bikes?  Finally, as I was writing this post, Ben commented on the beautiful sunset and told me I had to get up and look out the window.  He was right–the sunset was breathtaking.  I will never get over the incredible beauty painted across the sky each morning and night.

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spending Time with Grandparents

  1. Mom says:

    What a wonderful day and for the Lord to paint such a beautiful sunset at the end, glorious! Love you Sweet Girl.

Your Comments Make My Day

