Beginning My First Quilt

Ever since I was a little girl, I have wanted to quilt.  I would get excited for quilting shows the way most children would get excited for cartoons.  But it was always just a dream.  I never really thought that someday I would actually quilt, I just knew that I really, really, wanted to try.

Fast forward about 13 years.  I decided that I was actually going to try quilting.  I got scraps of fabric from a friend that wasn’t going to use them, I got some fabric from a free pile on the side of the road, and I got quite a lot of little fabric scraps from my husband’s grandma.  My grandma had given me her sewing machine before she died, so I just needed to get the basic supplies and decide on a pattern.

About a month and a half ago, I finally started my first quilt.  I found a tutorial by Bonnie Hunter for a scrappy sister’s choice quilt.  It was perfect.  I needed a scrappy pattern, since scraps are what I have, and I very much wanted to do a traditional quilt block.  The pattern is fairly simple, but very visually interesting.  I knew the triangles would be a challenge, but I really didn’t want to make something with just squares.

I made my first two blocks one at a time.  My points didn’t turn out very well, but I’m ok with that since I’m learning.  Hopefully, my points will line up well by the time I finish my last block.  My first block is on the left, and my second block is on the right.

 

Next, I decided to try chain piecing.  Over the course of a couple days, I made five blocks at once.  I ended up feeling like I was on an assembly line, and it took all of the fun out of the process, so I won’t be making that many at a time any more.

Up to this point, I have made good use of my seam ripper, but I have only made two huge mistakes.  The first mistake was actually on the first block.  I sewed a couple of rows upside down, so the triangles didn’t form points.  My other big mistake was on the purple and blue block above.  I very much wanted to use that purple flowered fabric that is in the center nine-patch, but I had just enough of it for the block.  I accidentally cut one of the pieces the wrong size, but I was still determined to use the fabric.  So, I ended up sewing a couple pieces of the purple together in order to have enough squares.  If you look closely, you can see the seam, but it’s not too obvious when you look at the whole block.

 

The next time I sat down to quilt, I knew better than to do a whole bunch of blocks at once, so I just did two blocks.  I was very happy with how well the points turned out on the bright one.

Now I had nine blocks done.  That was the perfect number for laying them all together for the first time.  I think it will look nicer once there is more variety, but this is a great start!

I am so happy to have finally started quilting after so many years.  It’s relaxing, and I enjoy the creativity involved in designing each block.  Ultimately, this quilt is going to be a queen-sized bed quilt.  I would almost say that I can’t wait to see the finished top, but I am very much enjoying the process of making it.  I won’t wish that away.

This entry was posted in bed quilts, my first quilt, quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beginning My First Quilt

  1. Pingback: Quilt Maps | doll envy

Your Comments Make My Day

