Modern Table Runner

modern table runner

My modern guild did a Christmas gift exchange last year.  In November, everyone brought two quarter yards of fabric in an envelope.  We exchanged envelopes, and sewed something using that fabric.  The next month, we brought it back to give to whoever had brought in the fabric that we used.  I received two blue prints in the envelope.

I pulled a white and blue snowflake fabric from my stash, and I found a tutorial by Missouri Star Quilt Company to make these blocks:

 

I decided to make the blocks and put them in a chevron shape for a table runner.  Unfortunately, I didn’t consider that the seam allowance would cause the stripes not to line up.  After I sewed the blocks together, I decided that I didn’t like it.  I spent some quality time with my seam ripper and started brainstorming new ideas.

bad chevrons

I still wanted to make a table runner.  I decided to use sets of 4 blocks to make squares, some with the blue on the inside, and some with it on the outside.  I then floated the squares in a marbled grey fabric from my stash.

top view

To quilt it, I stitched in the ditch around the blue stripes.  I did a sort of straight line spiral in each of the white sections, and I did loops in the background.  I did all of the quilting with a blue variegated thread.  I really like how it turned out.

quilting

The quilting texture shows up nicely on the back of the runner.  I like the way the blocks stand out.

quilting texture

The runner was a little too long to use one piece of fabric for the back.  To make the back large enough, I added a diagonal stripe.  It didn’t end up quite as off center as I would have liked, but I think it still works well.

back

The person I made my gift for ended up having foot surgery in December, so I had to wait several months to give her the gift.  I was finally able to give it to her last month, and I’m so happy that she was delighted with it.

This entry was posted in modern quilts, quilting, small projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Modern Table Runner

  1. Mom says:

    Another beautiful piece. You are truly blessed with creativity.

  2. Susan says:

    That’s a great design and would look good on a table in any kind of decor. I like your quilting ideas, too.

  3. Jasmine says:

    You did great putting this together. I am sure she will love it!

Your Comments Make My Day

