Tossed Coffee

tossed coffee 2

My Mom’s kitchen and dining room are coffee shop themed.  When I saw some maroon coffee cup fabric at Main Street Quilting, I just knew that it had to become a table runner for her.  I grabbed the fabric, along with some coordinating prints, and brought them home to sit for a few weeks while I pondered how best to use them.

After tossing around a few ideas for a while, I eventually settled on fussy cutting the coffee cups and using them in a tossed nine patch block.  Hence the name Tossed Coffee.  I’m glad that’s what I decided on, because I really like how it turned out.

tossed coffee 1

I used three different colors of thread for the quilting, one to blend in with each of the fabrics.  I stitched in the ditch around the coffee cup squares, outlined the coffee cups, and then did very small stippling in the background.  This makes the coffee cups pop up a little bit.  I also stitched in the ditch around the brown squares, then stitched a heart in the middle of each square and echoed it.  All the hearts are oriented so that the tip of the heart goes to the corner of the coffee square next to it.  Lastly, I did a wishbone design in the cream sections.  You can’t really tell, but the cream fabric has different coffee words in a light tan text.

tossed coffee 3

I gave this to my mom for Christmas last year.  She loved it just as much as I hoped she would!  I always try to remember to include a label on my pieces, especially when it’s a gift for someone special.  I think that little personal touch of handwriting really adds to the sentimental value.

tossed coffee 4

This entry was posted in finished projects, quilting, small projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tossed Coffee

  1. Susan says:

    It looks wonderful, and your quilting makes it even better. I never heard it called a “tossed nine patch” before, just a D9P, disappearing nine patch. The name works nicely with the fabric.

  2. Mom says:

    You are so right Bobbi, I absolutely love it. Not only is it a beautiful piece of art it is also made with love by my precious youngest daughter. Thank you again, I will treasure it.

  3. Astrid says:

    I love everything coffee and this table runner is so lovely! Love the way it is quilted and how the cups pop! Well done! I’ve just cut fabrics for a coffee table runner… :)

Your Comments Make My Day

