Complete Quilt in a Month?

One month from today, I’ll be flying to Texas to see my best girlfriend.  Of course, since February is a weird month, that’s also exactly 4 weeks away.  I’m super excited to see her.  It’s been about 3 years since we were last together, and she now has a 2 1/2 year old.  I can’t wait to meet the little guy.

I decided that I would love to have a quilt to give her son.  As soon as I booked the flight, I started looking for fabric.  Since I have so little time, a jelly roll race quilt is in order.  I’m using a Simple Marks Summer jelly roll by Malka Dubrawsky for Moda.  It’s a bright, fun line, and not too little-kid-ish.  Since he’s already 2 1/2, I wanted something that would be fun now and also work well as he gets a little older.

simple marks summer jelly roll

The big question is, can I sew, quilt, and bind a quilt within a month?  That’s much faster than I usually work.  The jelly roll race style will make for a fast top, and I’m thinking about doing all over loops for a quick quilting design.  I still want to hand stitch the binding, so that will take a while, as usual.  My modern guild is having a sewing day today, so I should be able to get some good work done.  Hopefully I will have a completed top before the day is through.

This entry was posted in lap quilts, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Complete Quilt in a Month?

  1. dezertsuz says:

    Oh, I hope you got that top finished today! What a great way to start the month. Love the fabrics picture. This should be perfect for a boy.

  2. wombatquilts says:

    Good luck. You can do it.

  3. Joy says:

    You’re the best! You know that? You really are. I love you and so does Hosea!

Your Comments Make My Day

