350 Block Challenge – 2013 Total

350button13

It’s hard to believe that it’s already 2014!  Now that 2013 is complete, it’s time to see how I did on the 350 Blocks Project.  The goal was to make 350 quilt blocks last year.  While I didn’t reach that goal, I did complete quite a few blocks since my October update.

I finished 26 blocks for the Saint Patrick’s Day quilt.  With the previously completed 4 blocks, I was able to get that quilt top put together.

St Patricks Top

Next, I made a jelly roll race quilt.  I’m counting that as one block.

cherry christmas jelly roll race 5

Also in November, I made 4 tossed nine patch blocks for a table runner for my mom.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the Christmas gift exchange for my modern guild, I made 24 of these little guys:

striped blocks

Then, over the week of Christmas, I played with a couple of Waterfront Park layer cakes.  That resulted in 39 wonky nine patch blocks.

wonky nine patches

I also finished 4 of the special blocks that will be needed for that quilt.  Those include a log cabin block, a courthouse steps block, and two improvisational blocks.

4 special blocks

All in all, I made 98 blocks in November and December.  That puts my total for the year at 228.  I’m so pleased that I was able to finish that many blocks last year!  It’s really fun to keep track of that and see how much I accomplished.  If Shelly decides to host another block challenge this year, I will definitely play along.  Either way, I plan on keeping track of how many blocks I finish.  It’s just so much fun to watch the number grow.

This entry was posted in quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 350 Block Challenge – 2013 Total

  1. dezertsuz says:

    Shelley said she was doing it again, in some form! You had a fantastic two months. Your total for the year is quite respectable. I never kept track before this year, when I saw it on Deanna’s blog. It’s really been fun – makes me feel like I did more. LOL

  2. Way to go! You got a lot done. I’m planning to host this again, so I’m glad to know you’re ready!

  3. Congratulations! You accomplished many important things. I really like that St. Patricks Day quilt. My grandmother was Irish with a March birthday. She would have loved it.

    • Bobbi says:

      Thank you so much! The St Patrick’s quilt is slowly growing on me. I’ve been working on a scrappy back that is a lot of fun, so that helps. I don’t know why my hubby loves St. Patrick’s Day so much. It’s not his heritage–he just really loves all things Irish. He would love it if I had the quilt ready in time for the holiday this year, so that’s my goal.

Your Comments Make My Day

