Playing with Fabric

Playful

Yesterday I broke out a layer cake of Waterfront Park by Michael Miller Fabrics.  I had no idea what I wanted to do with it; I just wanted to play.  I was in the mood to let my creativity go rather than working on one of the carefully planned projects on my ‘need to do’ list.  And since it was Christmas, why not set those aside and have a little fun?

I laid out all of the fabrics, chose 10 squares, and turned them into 10 wonky nine patch blocks.  This morning, I started laying them out different ways and thinking what I could do with them.  I’ve come up with a general idea, but I still don’t know exactly where I’m headed.  It will involve 39 wonky nine patches, 45 solid squares, a checkerboard layout, and something creative for the remaining 6 blocks needed to fill in the top.  Of course, that ‘something’ has yet to be determined.

It is really liberating to sew this way.  I usually spend hours planning and know exactly what I’m going to do before I cut into any fabric.  I’m finding it to be incredibly fun to create as I go.  I should sew like this more often.

This entry was posted in lap quilts, quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing with Fabric

  1. Mom says:

    So glad you are having fun letting your creative “wonky” juices flow!

  2. dezertsuz says:

    Always good to have fun – expands the brain to do this once in a while, and probably we learn something we won’t if we stick to patterns and plans. =)

  3. Astrid says:

    How fun! I know it will look great when finished!

Your Comments Make My Day

