Operation: Salvage

For my modern guild’s Christmas gift exchange, each person brought an envelope with two pieces of fabric to the November meeting.  We drew envelopes, and were instructed to make something with the fabric in the envelope.  At our next meeting, we will receive whatever was made with our own fabrics.

I spent the last couple of weeks trying to decide what to do, and I finally settled on the tube quilting method to make a chevron table runner.  The linked video demonstrates a double hourglass block, but at the end, it shows various layouts, including chevrons.  I took their word for it, and didn’t consider whether that layout would actually work.

As it turns out, the seams only line up nicely when the stripes are going different directions.  When the stripes go the same direction, they end up very staggered, which is not at all what I was going for.

bad chevrons

Now, I get to rip the seams and try to figure out how to salvage this project.  I’m out of fabric, so I need to find a way to use these blocks.  Since the theme was minimalist and modern, I’m not sure that simply rotating them into double hourglass blocks quite fits.

Due to the amount of fabric I had available in the envelope, these blocks ended up pretty small.  So, I’m thinking that I may float them in another fabric to create a broken chevron look.  That may solve my problem while also making the runner a bit wider.  We’ll see if I like that look.  This project is due in 9 days, and I’m really slow at hand stitching the binding, so I’d better come up with something quickly!

This entry was posted in quilting, small projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Operation: Salvage

  1. dezertsuz says:

    Honestly, I see nothing wrong with it the way it is. So what if it’s staggered? It isn’t what your original goal was, I understand that, but there’s nothing wrong with it as it is, either. That definitely labels it modern! I’ll bet you can figure out a cute arrangement that doesn’t require ripping and take more time or need more fabric. From what I’ve seen on your blog, you are creative! =)

Your Comments Make My Day

