350 Block Challenge – October Update

350button13

It’s been a long time since I’ve made any progress towards the goal of 350 quilt blocks this year.  We bought a house this summer, and work was particularly demanding.  Quilting had to take a backseat.  Needless to say, I don’t think I’ll be meeting the goal of 350 blocks this year, but I did manage to get a few done last month.

I did two blocks for my guild’s charity quilt.  It was my first experience with foundation piecing, and it went pretty well.

charity hearts

I also finished four blocks for the St. Patrick’s Day quilt that I’m making for my husband.  I need to come up with a name for this quilt.  It’s going to be a single Irish chain with diamonds in between the chains.

St Patricks

Additionally, I finished four blocks that I can’t show just yet.  And there was one block that I made a long time ago that I hadn’t counted yet.  It’s the label for my first quilt, which I will be revealing soon.  The label says I finished in the spring, but that’s because I wrote the label before attaching it with the binding.  It took me the rest of the summer to get the binding hand-stitched to the back of the quilt.

first quilt 34

That’s 10 blocks for October, and 1 other that hadn’t been counted yet.  My previous total was 119 blocks, so now I am at 130 for the year.  The goal so far is 290 blocks.  That puts me 160 behind.  There’s no way I’ll be making that up in the next couple of months.  Though, honestly, I think 130 blocks in 10 months isn’t too shabby.

This entry was posted in quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 350 Block Challenge – October Update

  1. dezertsuz says:

    I really love those heart blocks, the colors are so appealing. The Irish quilt will be gorgeous, too. I hope to see it when you finish. I think, especially considering all the turmoil in your life this year, 130 blocks is an *astounding* number to have made!

  2. Any progress is good progress, and keeping track at least lets you see what you’re getting done!

  3. Daddy says:

    Congratulations on moving forward! Your eye for colors is amazing. Can’t wait to see next installment.

  4. heatherdpear says:

    Love the assortment of your blocks. I went through a phase of making every heart block that I could find, but I have kept very few. Most of them went to other quilters in need of comfort. The Irish quilt is going to be awesome. I scrolled down to view your first quilt and it’s gorgeous. Love all those wonderful colours. The details on the binding stitching are much appreciated. I never thought too much about which stitch to use, but turns out I use the one you moved to.

    Keep on stitching and how many blocks we each finish this year is many more than we had done at the beginning of the year.

Your Comments Make My Day

