Checkbook Cover

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to do any sewing.  I was finally able to carve out a couple of hours today, and I jumped on the opportunity.  Sewing is wonderful therapy in between the chaos of work.

I wanted a small project that I could finish quickly.  My checkbook gets so beat up floating alone in my purse, so I thought a checkbook cover would be just the thing.  I dug through my stash, and I came across a beautiful blue fabric that I have been loathe to cut up.  This is a fabric best enjoyed in larger pieces than what I typically put in quilts.  But as a checkbook cover, I would be able to enjoy it in a better size.  And I had a complementary purple for the inside.  Perfect!

I followed this tutorial by Amanda Jean of Crazy Mom Quilts.  Overall it went pretty well.  I think that if I were to do this again, I would cut the rectangles of fabric 1/2 inch bigger each way so that I could use a 1/2 inch seam allowance instead of the 1/4 inch seam allowance from the tutorial.  I think that would make it much easier to close the hole left for turning it right-side-out.

The other thing I would do differently would be to fuse the interfacing to the inside fabric instead of the outside fabric.  Looking back, I think that is how Amanda Jean did it; it just wasn’t very clear in the tutorial.  I fused it to the outside fabric, and I think that is why the inside fabric wrinkled in the crease.

Overall, I am very pleased with the result.  Especially considering this was my first sewing project.  Up until now, I have only ever worked on blankets.  I had fun, I learned some things, and I have a pretty new checkbook cover.  It was a good afternoon.

This entry was posted in sewing, small projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Checkbook Cover

  1. Mom says:

    Very cute. I am so glad you had a little sewing therapy today.

  2. I really like that purple fabric. It looks like a successful project to me.

Your Comments Make My Day

