Ready to Quilt

all basted

My leftovers quilt is all basted and ready to go.  I was surprised at how quickly the basting went.  My only other experience with basting was my penguin table runner, and it did not go nearly so well that time.  While basting the table runner was slow and tedious, I actually found the basting of this quilt to be rather fun.  Who knew that basting could be fun?

The only difference between my method now and the method I used before was the Kwik Klip.  The Kwik Klip is an amazing little gadget that makes both inserting and closing the pins about 100 times easier than trying to do it with your fingers.  When inserting the pins, holding the quilt down with the Kwik Klip helps them to poke through easier.  Then, the grooves at the end of the tool hold the sharp part of the pin still, and you just push the top down to close it.  It really is a fantastic little invention.

kwik klip

Linking up with WiP Wednesday.

This entry was posted in lap quilts, low volume quilts, quilting, scrap quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ready to Quilt

  1. Astrid says:

    Your leftover quilt looks great! I always pin and then thread baste before quilting, because I feel all those pins are in the way. I have tried only with pins, but my experience is also the backing puckers less when quilting when it is thread basted.

  2. I have heard about this tool, maybe I should give it a try? I am currently having a basting problem but this quilt is allowing me to quilt now…love the quilt too by the way!

  3. Jan says:

    I love the Kwik Klip, too! Your leftovers quilt is very nice! I think the random brown bits really adds a pop!

  4. Elizabeth E. says:

    Beautiful quilt. I love how the sun’s rays are falling across the quilt, making me think that you basted this at the end of a day. Lovely

Your Comments Make My Day

