My First Quilt – The Time Has Come

I just finished sewing the last seam on the last block for my sister’s choice quilt.  Having been working on this quilt for over a year now, it’s a very strange feeling not to have any more blocks to make.  Stranger still was the realization that dawned on me as I was laying out the blocks for a picture–42 of the 81 blocks were completed this month, while it took me a year to complete the first 39 blocks.  It’s pretty exciting to think back to that first sewing session over a year ago and realize how far I have come.  I am much quicker, and my points are much, much better now than they were then.

first quilt 27

These two were my favorites this week.  The text print is definitions of various sewing terms.

first quilt 28

So, at last the time has come to lay out all 81 blocks and decide their placement within the quilt top.  While one part of me knows that it’s not really a big deal, and that any arrangement that is fairly well balanced will look wonderful, another part of me can’t help feeling that this is a very significant step.  That part of me holds the belief that there is surely some elusive, perfect layout that will really make the quilt shine more than any other layout possibly could.  Foolish?  Certainly, but the thought still nags.  As such, I’ve been simultaneously looking forward to this moment and dreading it ever since the day I laid out the first 12 completed blocks.  Now that the moment has arrived, I’m quite a bit nervous, but I’m also very excited to finally get to see what this quilt will really look like.  Wish me luck.  The time has come, and I’m about to dive in.

This entry was posted in bed quilts, my first quilt, quilting, scrap quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My First Quilt – The Time Has Come

  1. Judy D in WA says:

    I love these blocks! Your quilt is going to be fabulous! Just lay them out, move a few, step back, move a few more, and take that giant leap and start sewing them together. It’s going to be great. Don’t forget to breath. :) Can’t wait to see.

    • Bobbi says:

      Thank you so much! It was fairly stressful, and it took me about 4 hours, but I did manage to get them all laid out. I haven’t started sewing them yet, but I don’t think I’m going to rearrange them any more. Come back tomorrow if you want to see the layout I came up with.

  2. Chris says:

    Congrats!!! It is always exciting to finish the last block.

  3. Deb Praus says:

    Love it! and congrats. I always take a picture of my layout, it seems to show things(especially with scrappy) that the naked eye cannot catch. I should just learn to really go for it, shouldn’t I? lol

    • Bobbi says:

      Just going for it is scary, though! I love your idea of taking a picture. I tried it, and I think it helps to see things a little bit smaller. I just can’t look at everything at once in real life.

  4. Astrid says:

    CONGRATS on finishing all the blocks! Well done! Lay all the blocks out and take a photo. If you are not satisfied with the layout, move the blocks around until you are happy. All the best! Whatever you do, it will look great, since it is a scrappy quilt.

    • Bobbi says:

      Thanks, Astrid! I can’t believe they are finally done! Taking a picture definitely helped with the layout. I think I’m happy with what I came up with. I’ll be posting about it tomorrow if you would like to see.

  5. Your blocks look great. And I think all of us have played and played with a layout and then just decided to go for it and sew it together.

    • Bobbi says:

      Thank you. I think I could play with it forever, but then I would never actually have a quilt! I’m just going to have to bite the bullet and get to sewing. :)

    • Bobbi says:

      Thank you. I think I could play with it forever, but then I would never actually have a quilt! Im just going to have to bite the bullet and get to sewing. [image: :)]

      -Bobbi amidthismoment.wordpress.com

Your Comments Make My Day

