Tomato Basil Salad

Last night, my husband and I had dinner with a few other people.  One of them is on a diet that restricts starches, so he isn’t eating grains, potatoes, and such.  They were planning to grill and we were asked to bring a side dish.  One of my mom’s friends suggested that I make this salad.  It was a huge success.

 

Ingredients:
fresh basil leaves
cherry or grape tomatoes
mozzarella
balsamic vinaigrette

 

 

1. Rinse and dry the basil and tomatoes.

2. Pick the leaves off the basil, and tear the larger leaves to make them bite-sized.  I avoid using the stems since they are bitter.  If your basil has any flowery parts, those will also be bitter.

 

3. After the basil is prepared, cut the tomatoes into quarters and cut the mozzarella into small pieces.  (If you’re in a hurry, you could leave the tomatoes whole; I just prefer the smaller pieces.)

 

4. Toss the basil, tomatoes, and mozzarella with some balsamic vinaigrette and enjoy.

This entry was posted in quick and easy, recipes, salad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomato Basil Salad

  1. Karen says:

    One of my favorite salads. I can’t wait until summer and we have fresh tomatoes from the garden.

  2. Bobbi says:

    Fresh veggies are the best!

Your Comments Make My Day

